Facebook Scam

Here is a reminder about safety when online:

When searching for Facebook using Google, a page will come up with search results.  Patrons should be advised not to click any search results that are marked as an “Ad”.  The real Facebook link is not marked as an “Ad”.  If patrons click on the link marked as an “Ad”, a fake warning page appears, usually with a popup window and blocks the user from clicking the back button or closing the browser.

To close the browser to get out of a faulty website, press CTRL + ALT + DEL on the keyboard.  Then click Task Manager. Click the browser name and then click End Task. Patrons can avoid these type of scams altogether by typing the exact URL into the address bar of the browser, which bypasses Google search results.

 

This entry was posted in archive. Bookmark the permalink.